Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandalas, Totems, Emblems and Alphabetaic symbols

Mandalas, Totems, Emblems and Alphabetaic symbols

Memetics and archetypes are common words in the present day, but how few of us focus our inner selves and are able to protect and be engulfed in our true reality? I see Gematria as a related subject and yet, I find it overly prevailed upon with logic. Perhaps the Keys of Solomon or his Ars Goetia captures the realms we seek more wisdom from, I am no expert in them. Adam Mc Lean makes a good start to an extension of what Ogham can still be a pathway to, when MacDari writes about "direct cognition" or others describe as 'direct perception and I call tapping-in or attunement.

"Man achieves the height of Wisdom when all that he does is as self evident as what Nature does." - I Ching

"EMBLEMATIC MEDITATION

by Adam McLean

The stream of mystery wisdom we know as the hermetic tradition, embraces many facets. It has a coherent set of metaphysical ideas that continue to make sense even within the currents of present day scientific thought, a spiritual psychology which recognises the importance of the process of change and transmutation very relevant to the present condition of the human soul, and an elaborate system of symbols which can still speak directly to us, and seem to be a map of archetypes etched into our innermost being. When we begin to look at the material of the hermetic tradition we are quickly struck by the elaborate and beautiful emblematic engravings especially from the late 16th and early 17th centuries, such as those of De Bry, Merian and others, illustrating the works of Robert Fludd, Michael Maier, Mylius, Khunrath, etc, which now seem almost mandatory for inclusion in today's popular books on the 'occult' and related themes....